3. Valentine’s Cupcakes and the Importance of the e-Newsletter

In keeping with our Mansfield reading (Social Media for Social Good) which touched on the importance of e-newsletters, I decided to make a February newsletter for She’s the First*{Michigan}. Below are screenshots of the e-newsletter, along with a step-by-step explanation of why certain elements appear as they do. This e-newsletter was created with MailChimp, a free online software which allows you to “design email newsletters, share them on social networks, integrate with services you already use, and track your results” (MailChimp).

Enjoy!

Image

Image

Image1. The header image of the e-newsletter is something that I thought about for a while. This photo is a group of girls at the school we sponsor in Guatemala, Starfish One by One. I think it’s a good way to open the newsletter because it draws the reader in and encourages them to read on.

2. I wanted to keep the introduction short, just highlighting some of our important events and listing meeting dates so they are easy to find for future reference

 

3. Knowing that readers love graphics, I wanted to keep the use of graphics consistent throughout. The prominence of these graphics is visually appealing and also communicates info about our events in a useful way.

4. All of the most important details are either bold or larger in font, so that members are attracted immediately to those details when they read. Writing is kept to a minimum.

 

5. Mansfield also mentions that videos are appealing. I couldn’t decide where to place this video, although it seemed to fit at the bottom since I wanted to keep the events in order and following the introduction.

6. I think the “call to action,” Take 2 Minutes… Be Inspired is an effective way to get readers to actually watch the video, since they know it’ll be brief, but also inspirational.

 

I’m so excited to get all of the statistics on open, interaction and click-through rates!

What do you think? Do you have any feedback I may want to consider for next month’s issue?

2 thoughts on “3. Valentine’s Cupcakes and the Importance of the e-Newsletter

  1. I love the look of the whole newsletter, and the tone of the writing seems perfect.

    As a reader who might want to just get something on my calendar, I would like more details on just about everything. When it says, “look for more details to come,” that creates a second step for me. Now I have to pay attention for more info, or hope the org. sends it to me.

    What do you think? Should the newsletter contain all the pertinent details, or is there something positive to be gained by including a lot of “teasers”?

  2. Hey, Meaghan! Congrats on your first newsletter! It looks great, and I’m sure it’ll be interesting to see the impact that it makes on your social media presence. I think you did a great job of keeping Mansfield’s thoughts and suggestions in mind, especially your integration of graphics and the placement of photos. I really think the combination of pictures and text, as well as the various placements of pictures makes the individual sections pop. It definitely made me more willing to read the whole newsletter!

    Next, your header is definitely the best part of the newsletter. The image is very high quality, which in and of itself makes it appealing. Beyond that, the content of the image is very appealing, and I’m sure it resonates with those participating in She’s the First. My only recommendation for the cover would be to make the text colorful as it is on the blog. I think that would make it pop even more!

    Finally, I like how you give links to the Facebook and twitter accounts at the bottom of the newsletter. You could, however, put icons at the top, possibly in the header. Just a suggestion, but I think that would make it more visible. Overall, this looks great. I hope I can utilize newsletters for my organization, as well!

Leave a Reply

