1. Introduction: The Suburban Girl With Big City Dreams

ImageHello! My name is Meaghan Taylor O’Connor, and I am a current senior at the University of Michigan. When I graduate in May of 2013, I will hold a bachelor’s degree with a major in Communication Studies and a concentration in English.

During my time as a U of M student, I was Editor-In-Chief of The Forum, a Greek-affiliated newspaper, led my Greek chapter as the VP Chapter Relations and Standards, volunteered with a high school ministry outreach organization called YoungLife, and co-started my very own campus chapter of the national non-profit, She’s the First (more details to come).

545435_1743502308076_2005956170_nAlthough I grew up in Ada, Michigan—a conservative suburb near Grand Rapids—my dream after graduation is to begin a career on the business side of magazine publication in the heart of New York City. I’ve spent the past two summers as both an editorial intern for Women’s Lifestyle Magazine in Grand Rapids, and also as a marketing intern for Food Network Magazine in NYC.

In my free time, I enjoy practicing yoga, volunteering with high school/middle school kids, reading romance novels, and baking. My friends and family might tell you that I make one of the most spectacular tie-dye cupcakes you will ever taste. (You’ll hear more about what makes these cupcakes so special when I introduce the non-profit that I548708_1787530248747_252084630_n have chosen to work with for the semester). Although I enjoy being on campus as a student, in an ideal world I would spend as much time as possible with family, friends and my Maltese puppy.

Perhaps similar to my fascination with magazines, I also have a passion for studying Pinterest and how various magazines and non-profits have utilized the technology to promote their brands. I also love the fact that you can spend hours drooling over delicious recipes, gorgeous wedding gowns, and fun arts n’ crafts… because, well, what twenty-year-old girl doesn’t?

Over the next few months, I can’t wait to share my passion for social media and non-profit organizations that raise funds and awareness about girls’ education worldwide. I hope you’ll join me as I begin developing my own campus non-profit while studying the success (and weakness) of those already in existence.

Shall we get started?

Leave a Reply

